Skip to content

Higher Technical Qualifications

HTQs are an alternative to apprenticeships or degrees.

They may suit you if you want a more practical, employer-led study programme. HTQs are for students over 18 who want to study a subject to prepare them for skilled jobs.

You can study HTQs full time or part time. They are usually taught at colleges, universities, or independent training providers. Approved HTQs are new and existing level 4 and 5 qualifications approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education.

There are many different types of HTQs, such as:

  • higher national diplomas
  • higher national certificates
  • foundation degrees
  • higher education diplomas

You can use UCAS to search and apply for HTQ course

Alternatively, you can ask your local college or training provider.


HTQs Guide (PDF)

HTQs Application Guide (PDF)